Over the past couple of years I have been helping a local morris side maintain their website. It’s been a good learning experience for me on two sides one has been the actual learning how to develop a website. I picked bootstrap when we re-designed it, the idea was that it would a nice plain fairly static site – but good looking. The other learning experience has been dealing with a large group of poeple most of whom are not technical – first time I’ve really got near users in the last 18 years  (and what an eye opener tht has been).

This morning I have been using some of the knowlege learnt to updte my own website. So far I have been linking to the hosted install of bootstrap but thought so that my website will not be affected by any changes on the hosted site I really ought to download the complied source and hosted on my site. In doing this I can accross this line of code:

<link rel="icon" href="https://maxcdn.bootstrapcdn.com/bootstrap/3.3.7/favicon.ico">

I’ve wondered what it is for a while so this morning I’ve found out- it’s the little icons at the top of the website

favicon

And I found a website where you can create your own:

favicon

 

Fab – you learn somthing new very day!!!

